Writings from Childhood

Wow!  I had such good intentions when I started this blog to update two to three times a week.  Well, obviously that has not happened.  Getting back into the blog, I want to start something new for the next few posts.  I want to focus on childhood writing.  My mother is moving shortly, and as she has been cleaning out her house, she has found several of my writings from childhood.  Apparently, she kept just about every piece of writing I did while in elementary school.  I thought it would be fun to re-create some of those writings here.

Writings from Childhood – A poem by nine year old me  (October 1991)

“The Squirrel”

Whisky-Frisky

Hippity hop,

Up he goes

To the Treetop!

Whirly, twirly,

Round and round,

Down he scampers

To the ground.

Furly, curly,

What a tail

Tall as a feather!

Where’s his supper?

In the shell

Snap, crackle

Out it fell.


Leave a comment